Dear Colleague,

The 2023 IPMA-HR Minnesota Chapter membership drive is underway! IPMA-HR is the leading public sector human resource organization in the world and has been serving HR professionals since 1906. As a current or former member of IPMA-HR, I am sure you are aware of the many benefits IPMA-HR offers. From the services and training opportunities provided to the resources located on the IPMA-HR website and our newly created IPMA-HR Quarterly Newsletter. The organization is a great resource for public sector professionals like yourself. For individuals who have never been a member, I encourage you to consider joining our MN Chapter.

Member benefits
• Ongoing opportunities to build your professional network by being a part of a network of colleagues with expertise in all aspects of public sector human resources.

• Keeping up with what's going on in the field by attending quarterly meetings and training sessions. Program agendas are designed to address timely and relevant issues of specific interest to the membership; new developments, legal changes, and legislative proposals.

• Receive the Quarterly IPMA-HR Newsletter which has relevant and timely trends, ideas, and insights for the public sector HR Professional.

• On Monday, April 17, 2023, IPMA-HR Minnesota will be hosting an annual all-day Recruitment Summit at Dakota Lodge in Thompson Park. This Recruitment Summit was kicked off in November with State Demographer Susan Brower’s update on the Minnesota Workforce which reminded us that things are not likely to change in the next 10-15 years and why now is the most important time to plan your recruitment strategy for the challenging years to come! The tentative agenda will include topics like; culture-attraction-retention, flexible workplace and job redesign policies, branding, diversifying candidate pools and job descriptions, compensation/market analysis, and reducing service levels.

What do I need to do?
To join or renew your membership, complete the attached form and return the membership fee to the address listed. Annual membership is just $25 per year ($50 per year if you are not a national member of IPMA-HR). Membership includes all 2023 quarterly membership meetings/training sessions (excluding the all-day conference fee which is discounted for members at $100 vs. $150 for non-members).

If you have any questions regarding MN Chapter membership, you can contact me at or at 651.399.7500 or Kellie Sundheim at, 651-281-1214. On behalf of the IPMA-HR Minnesota Board, we hope you will accept our invitation.


Sandie Thone
President, IPMA-HR Minnesota Chapter

Past Presidents
1973-74 Don Anderson
1974-75 Julie Vikmanis
1975-76 William J. Calguire
1976-77 Wesley Long
1977-78 Dave Werts
1978-79 Bonnie L. Williams
1979-80 Edward G. Peetz
1980-81 Agnes Gay
1981-82 Thomas Jackson
1982-83 Sidney Teske
1983-84 Catherine Johnson
1984-85 Jeanette Sobania
1985-86 Arlene Mann
1986-87 Denise Legato
1987-88 Charles Sprafka
1988-89 Mary O’Neill
1990-91 Ronald Quejas-Risdon
1991-93 Will Volk
1993-94 Lynn Boland
1994-95 John Johnson
1995-96 Betty Carlson
1996-97 Melanie Ault
1997-98 Mark Robertson
1998-99 Linda Skallman
1999-00 Brenda Wendlandt
2000-01 Tracie Chamberlin
2001-02 Angela Nalezny
2002-03 Gail Blackstone
2003-04 Kelli Wick
2004-05 Lori Peterson
2005-06 Laura Kushner
2006-07 Pamela French
2007-08 Jody Eilertson
2008-09 Joyce Hottinger
2009-10 Kay McAloney
2010-11 Kelly Tanzer
2011-12 Karen Kurt
2012-13 Ann Marie Shandley
2013-14 Eldona Bacon
2014-15 Charles J. Bernardy
2015-16 Nancy Deno
2016-17 Nance Lee Mosquera
2017-18 Alecia Rose
2018-19 Andy Benish
2019-20 Teressa Pivec
2020-21 Linda Hillenbrand
2021-22 Karin Van Dyck